13. The Dilemma: To Study or Not to Study? (Day 9)

13. The Dilemma: To Study or Not to Study? (Day 9)

The Battle Within

Confession - I didn't study today.

It hurts.

Have you ever had one of those days when you simply couldn't bring yourself to study, even though you know it's part of your daily routine? I certainly have, and it's something that often leaves me feeling a pang of guilt. Today, I want to share my experience and the thoughts that went through my mind when I decided to skip my daily coding practice.

A Long Day

It was a day like any other, filled with work, a dash of travel for an off-site event, and the inevitable grocery shopping in the evening. By the time I got home, I was mentally drained, and all I wanted to do was unwind and relax. I ended up spending some time on YouTube, watching random videos that didn't add any value to my day.

The Inner Struggle

As the evening wore on, I glanced at my coding materials and felt a twinge of guilt. I knew that missing a single day of coding would cause a pile-up of work in the future. However, at that moment, I couldn't muster the mental energy to dive into my studies. It was as if my brain was shouting, "Give me a break!"

The Battle Within

I found myself at a crossroads, torn between two choices. On one hand, there was the option to overcome my turbulent mind and push myself to do the opposite of what it wanted. On the other hand, there was the choice to listen to my body and mind and take a well-deserved break.

Choosing Rest

In the end, I chose the latter. I decided to give myself permission to take a break. I recognized that pushing myself on a day when I was mentally exhausted might not yield the best results. I wanted to prevent burnout and maintain a healthy work-life balance.

The Lingering Guilt

As I write this, it's 9:30 PM, and I'm preparing to call it a night. However, the guilt still lingers. I can't help but wonder if I should have chosen the former option, the one where I pushed through and studied despite my resistance.

The Daily Dilemma

This situation isn't unique to me, and many of us face similar dilemmas when it comes to daily routines or commitments. It's a battle between discipline and self-care, and there's no one-size-fits-all answer. Some days, pushing through the resistance is the right choice, while other days, listening to your body and mind is essential.

Conclusion

In the grand scheme of things, missing a single day of coding practice isn't the end of the world. It's a reminder that we're only human and that it's okay to take a break when needed. The key is finding the balance between discipline and self-compassion. Tomorrow is a new day, and I'm hoping that I'll be back on track with my coding studies, knowing that a little break today might have been just what I needed.